Kadavul Temple is Closed Until Until March 28th.

To attend worship at Kadavul Hindu Temple make a reservation here

Join Our • Live Stream • Iraivan Crystal Installation Event

Worshipping the Gods

A cyberspace devotee wants to know if he should worship all the Gods equally or is there a particular God that he should worship first. Gurudeva explains that Hinduism has four major denominations, each worshipping a different God. But what ties them together is that they all worship Lord Ganesha first.

Unedited Transcript:

A cyberspace cadet, Rajiv in Minnesota, mentions that Hinduism has the tradition of the Pancha Gods and wonders if he has to worship all the Gods equally before his Ishta Devata, [or] if he has to really worship Ganesha first. (or) "How does all this work out?"

Hinduism has four major traditions - Saivism, Saktism, Vaishnavisim and Smartism.The Smartas have the Ishta Devata concept of the five Gods. (And) If you were to become a Sakta, you would be worshiping Durga or one of the forms of the Divine Mother. If you were to become Saivite, you would be worshiping Siva. (And) If you were a Vaishnavite, of course you would be worshiping Vishnu. But, what ties all of these denominations together is that we all must worship Lord Ganesha first.

In the beautiful book, 'Dancing with Siva, Hinduism's Contemporary Catechism', all of this is explained in detail. We suggest you acquire it and read it.

Photo of  Gurudeva
When a person depends upon memory or reason for meaningful answers, the mind will break down in doubt. Only when the higher elucidation of the intuition is sought is doubt dispelled.